The winners of the 2019 Fit-Out Futures Awards were celebrated at the FIS President’s Lunch in London on Tuesday.

The event saw 300 members and their guests come together to see the winners revelaed in the delighful surroundings of Plaisterers’ Hall. Congratulations to all our winners and the shortlisted entrants.

Apprentice of the Year

WINNER: John Taylor – Stortford Interiors
The judges commented that John was clearly a talented tradesman and that he was also changing attitudes internally about the positive benefits that an apprentice can bring to his company. John was also praised for his understanding of the importance of his work and the need to follow guidelines. He continues to develop as a fantastic example of why the modern apprenticeship system will shape our industry for the future.

RUNNER UP: Danny Beadle – Pexhurst Services
Danny was recognised for his commitment to all aspects of the day-to-day site role, as well as his dedication to learning and improving his skill-set.

Future Leader – sponsored by CCF

WINNER: Simon Broggio – Meronden
Simon is an exemplar of how someone can enter the construction sector as a labourer and with the right attitude and work ethic work their way up to take on a Level 6 Construction Site Managers course. He is already a natural leader and an asset to the finishes and interiors sector.

RUNNER UP: Richard Austen – Stortford Interiors
Richard was awarded runner-up due to his enthusiasm to adopt new ways of working and new technologies. He was also recognised for his ability to manage both his peers and his superiors.

Outstanding Employee

WINNER: Matt Taylor – Astins
With more than 18 years’ experience in the industry, Matt was recognised for his never-ending energy and professionalism for design and to the sector.

RUNNER UP: Ed Kelly – ETAG Fixings
Ed was commended for his exceptional reliability, quality of work, initiative and professionalism, as well as his commitment to Etag’s work values.

Lifetime Achievement Award – sponsored by CCF

Ray Deeks – G Cook & Sons

Ray was chosen as the recipient of this award for demonstrating a lifetime’s dedication to his trade. In particular, he was applauded for the amount of his own time he has committed to sharing his wealth of knowledge and experience with the wider industry.

The judges said: “We all owe Ray a vote of thanks for the legacy that he continues to leave.”